Hi everyone. Please, who can help me with Facebook Adds. I have a few advertising with daily 5€ budget. I targeted UK, USA, and EU, but I didn't get enough visitors to my Shopify store, but when I added INDIA to my targets on Facebook, I'm getting a lot of visitors from India.
Hi, I partially agree with what you said but there are nuances. If the ad sets (targeting groups) are separated and they are smaller than let’s say a few thousand people, your frequency level would go up to 5 in 2 days and you’ll be paying much higher CPAs. An important key factor is how big your audiences remain after you split them in different ad sets. + using CBO with minimum ad spent limit per ad set is preferred.
Can i have an example of how to set the minimum limited budgets, of a CBO of $20 per day with 4 ad sets? How many ad sets of those 4 should be minimum limited and how much $ each to a $20 cbo? For example: All 4 ad sets would get $5 each minimum? Or just the 1-2 of them and the remaining 2 with no limit? thank you in advance.
I'd suggest to try the second method. But also try multiple interests within one ad set. Especially when Meta Business Suite has already created interests for you. I've done some crazy results with these plug and play ad sets. (For those who are interested: CPC
so would you say we can combine what you suggested with what facebook suggested? 1. testing and find out all the targeting that's top perfomirng and efficient, 2. step 2, then consolidating the ad sets to allow it work better per facebook?
Thanks for this Video, it was very useful. If a campaign has 5 adsets targeting say Travel as in the video, would you exclude the other interests in each respective adset? My assumption that you avoid duplicating ads being presented to the same audience. Your thoughts please . . . . . . .
Hi Ben! Thank you for all the knowledge you are sharing I have a question, as I can see your guidelines is 1interest per as set but I also observe when you made 5 ad set you keep all interest which will have similar audience, don't you think after only few days this campaign will face overlapping issue? Or you just give similar interest for example or you actually give similar interests in each ad set
Hi Ben! Thank you for all the knowledge you are sharing I would Like to know, if I want to target audience for shoes. especially women's heeled sandals. What is the right target audience ? Many thanks
Hey Ben, I’ve been using the standard approach and will start testing this way. What’s your recommended ad budget for the better method? Assuming a 1k-1.5k monthly ad budget for a local business
As a beginner in Ecom, I love your videos. I set my ad sets as per your video. Can you advise. I'm from Australia. 'I've been running a campaign and already spent $100 and No Sales on a $10 budget with 5 ad sets /Interests & 3 videos creatives. Should I kill the campaign?
Brilliant video as always! One question I have is what if I’m not sure whether it is travel, sports or health that works better for my product…can I use audiences with multiples interests and then, let’s say travel is the winner, break that down as single interest audiences after? Thanks 😊
Thanks Ben, great video. One question, though: if I am located in a region that is very much less populated than the UK you are targeting. Let's say I have a total audience of 15000 people with the "merged" interests/behaviours. Should I use Advantage+ budget or will I mess up the data about the performance? I also sometimes work with very limited budgets: can I use Advantage+ or the strategy just won't work properly?
Thanks :) If you are targeting multiple different targeting options with very different audience sizes then I would be very careful with that as some of your smaller ones probably won't get many impressions. Otherwise I think it's fine.
Ben, I never learned so much about Facebook ads, thank you much! My question is: Once I have figured out my winners targeting, is it a good idea to use them for my New Omnipresent Campaign instead of adding a bunch of targets? Although doing this, it is going to make my audience much bigger than 50.000. What is your advice for this? I hope my question was clear! Thanks a lot! 😀
Happy to help. I wouldn't apply this targeting approach to an omnipresent content campaign. For that I would use a different ad set structure, where each ad set includes the same targeting option. I'd revisit my vids on Omnipresent content for more details :)
Thank you for your teachings! I would like to ask, with the 5 different ad set names you made, are the image or video ads used the same for all 5 ad sets?
Good topic, Ben. Now, how to test along with various ad creatives? Test the ad creative first, before doing this? Or do this, and use all the various ad creatives within each ad set?
Hey Ben thanks for all the fantastic content is really top notch!! When a beginner just starting a conversion campaign…how much would you advise spending on an interest test adset before you give up because of no conversions and try another interest? Would this be a % or multiple of the product s cost? Or another target? Thanks for any help
Thank you very much! What is your idea about copy in FB/IG reeels format? Do you think it is still important? Or is it better to provide more info in the video and/or in the leadform?
Hi, great tip, just wondering if it will work for a localised targeting, e.g. a 3-mile radius of a store. Why I'm asking is that the audience size will be significantly smaller if they are separated out into different AdSets, and think it might be too restrictive for the ads to perform, any solution around this if I were to experiment with this strategy with a smaller audience size? Thanks.
Is this relevant if we have a small niche audience (ex. Insurance Agents) and the individual ad sets, even if we upload a list of 200k insurance agents, is too low to target and therefor too expensive(showing 0 leads, 5k-15k reach @ $200/day). I've had to add the Lookalike of that custom audience in the same ad set just to get to a point where we can run at $65/day to get an expected 2-10 leads. (6k-17k reach). I love the idea but it seems when i try to target like this I can't find a large enough audience. Thanks for the great videos. Just starting in Paid Media.
Ben, using your example, when doing this, would you recommend turning off the "Standard Ad Set" while you test the "Better Campaign"? At present (I'm following your exact strategy) I still have both running, and have concerns about overlap.
First of all I can't thank you enough for what you doing. You provide a ton value there. If you don't mind I would like to ask a question when it comes to behavior/interest targeting part. Let me say for example that we have a service that we can provide online... For example online psychology 1-1 sessions but specifically for athletes. Does it have any meaning to target athletes and narrow down to Psychology or Personal development ? Or it is better to let the facebook algorithm figure things out by just targeting athletes?
Great info. Thanks for sharing it. I'm currently running an ad the standard way. My target audience has about 25 topics (I sell science themed gifts). Separating out 25 topics seems a bit much. Do I have too many target audience topics to begin with?
Great video Ben👏👏...could i ask a quick doubt what about ads...can we keep it same for all the adset or change them and experiment with the best performing adset...thanks in advance for your time🙏
Hi Ben! A quick question here! What if you've identified 3 best out of 5 targetings. Will you put the best 3 into a single ad set in upcoming ads publish?
@@BenHeath do you have any formula or mindset which you would like to share to us on how to identify the targeting. It seems like your logical execution is quite optimising the budget. But if the marketer doesnt have the right targeting it will still be a waste. Am i right?
Hello Ben! Would you recommend this for someone who uses a daily budget of 5 euros? Isn't it very low to get in the 'game' with 1 euro for each ad? Thank you
Should we add all focus products in one adset or have separate adsets for each product or different campaign for each product? Can you pls give me your views on this?
We have detected that the audience size variance is greater than 50% between the ad set ........... with largest audience size 13,100,000 and ad set ........ with the smallest audience 55,900. With the current setup, delivery can skew towards the ad set with the larger audience size given the lower cost opportunities available. Ben Facebook says when the variance is above 50% directly moves to larger and ignores the smaller audience. You didn't mention anything about It. also I want to ask you excluding interests for preventing overlapping is a bad idea or not ?
That really depends on performance - if it's close to where it needs to be we'd leave it running a lot longer than if it is way off our target cost per conversion.
What happens when you are a local business and the keywords you are running separately have a low audience and there is too much overlap among them? I'm also seeing that Facebook tends to allocate more budget to Ad sets where there are higher audiences instead of the ones that perform better
Nice tips! I think your website traffic will increase as you get interaction by advertising. The secret to a good advertising campaign is to identify the right target audience and always be aware of what your competitors are doing. By using WASK these are pretty easy!
Hey Ben-love this, thanks! Do you suggest combining multiple lookalike audiences or keeping them in 1 ad set? I've noticed that my lookalike audiences aren't performing too well and Facebook recommends that I combine ad sets. Do you think that I may be competing against myself given that each lookalike source audience is very similar? What do you suggest?
EDIT: I wrote my comment before i'd seen the ending of the video. I see the point, and the approach is interesting. But what you are proposing pretty much contradicts Facebook's own recommendation of combining ad sets. Furthermore, for this approach to work / be more credible, you would need to exclude 4 interests from each ad set, otherwise you'd most likely have overlap. At least, that's my opinion :)
Hi Ben, based on my personal experience, Facebook would automatically compare the performance of each interest group and then reallocate my budget to the groups that outperform others. In other words, taking yours as an example, theoretically, Facebook could quickly find out that Vacations group and Adventure Travel group perform better, and soon Facebook will minimize or even stop showing ads to the audience in rest groups and leaving all the budget on the two outperforming ones. In this case, it's the same as you manually testing and choosing the interest groups to advertise. On top of that, the standard setting gets out of the learning phase faster, costing the advertiser less in the beginning. What's your thought?
Hi Steven, I think you make a good point but there are two issues with it. Firstly, I think you are giving Facebook a bit too much credit to be able to distinguish between the interests you have added into a single ad set. I think the people in there are not as segregated as you say. Secondly, you don't find out which works best - which is critical for improving results with future campaigns, ad sets, etc.
Great information. Does this work with local service based businesses who do not have huge audience sizes to start with (under 150k)? If I cannot target by interest due to too small an audience, can I create ad sets based on ages? We do see differences in conversions based on age.
Hi Ben, I've followed the detailed targeting approach. However, Facebook automatically is turning off my ad sets, keeping only 1 of them live. They turned off the ad set that gave me the most purchases!! Can you please help me understand the reason behind this and how can I ensure it doesn't keep happening? Thanks heaps.
Spot on once again, Ben. Thanks. Curious to know, does it make sense to combine a couple of better performng targeting options down the line when we are introducing new creatives/offers and//or starting new campaigns? Just to help out with easier campaign management.
Thanks a lot. I like to follow the logic all the way through so for me it doesn't. The exception would be when the best performing audiences end up being too small to run for very long by themselves.
Sir very thanks for video its gives me a huge boost Because this is the same trick am using for my company ad & generating good leads. Happy to see what am doing for months you're also recommending the same❤❤❤ By the way sir if you want any advertiser in your team am always ready just to gain experience from you not money
Your budget for your ad/audience test should be 3 times your target cost per acquisition. So if your product is $50 and your goal is to acquire customers and break even on your ad spend with a ROAS of 1, then your testing budget is $150, $50 x 3. So to answer your question... spend $50 per day for 3 days or $25 per day for 6 days, to test your audiences. Cheers!
Great one Ben! But something that is unclear for most us here is that, do we use ABO or CBO for this setup. That’s the missing piece of puzzle. Please help! Thanks.
@@BenHeath thanks mate! So you mean CBO and then equally distribute budget manually or let the algorithm do its job? I think its the example you gave which spilts 200 bucks equally that raises this question .
@@BenHeath I want to ask more question please I made an a/b test to test both the open targeting got me high number of conversion in the statistics and the detailed targeting give me lower but could it be that the detailed targeting could got me high value clients?
Also if I test two audience in a/b test the too audience are similar by 60% and I want to test two audience with slight difference will this make the test results reliable?
Hypothetical question: If I set up an Facebook ad saying "David, get your widgets for half price" and target males between 18 and 65+ will Facebook/Meta's AI work out that the advert gets a much higher click-through/conversion rate when shown to people called David than it does for people not called David? If so how long would it likely take?
Would it not be "better" to launch 4 new ad sets within the Standard Campaign, as opposed to launching a whole new Campaign? - As the Standard Campaign would have already built up the data from its Learning Phase. Launching a new campaign wouldnt it have to do the whole learning phase again?
what use is similar : 1 campaign WC 4 adsets ( 4 interests ) 4 ads per adset ( one pic, on video, carousel, combined pics as a video ) duplicate ads So, I have this structure : 1>4>32 I can add more creatives, or adsets, it depend to the product/service
very basic campaign structure.. I guess someone that is really a beginner might see this info as useful, but I hope you will start putting out some more advanced content since this basic stuff is easy to find & learn by almost any channel here on TH-cam.
I think it’s easy to assume that simple is not effective. In my experience the exact opposite is often true. That said - I cover all sorts on my channel - the video before this one for example had a more complex structure if that’s what you’re looking for
Thanks for all the great content Ben! We are a single product company. Curious how this fits with your single CBO campaign theory? Would you run something like this alongside your main campaign as a testing ground and then promote the winners into the main campaign alongside warm audiences and lookalikes? Basically - little confused how to approach audience testing AND scaling within the single CBO campaign structure 😂 thanks!
Along those lines - wouldn't CBO just allocate to the best ad set - so you wouldn't need to worry about turning the lower performers off? Alternatively, would it be advisable to target more broadly and just let FB algorithm do the work? I know I'm missing something - the concepts are just so hard to keep straight!
Ok, I've set up this ad. What kind of budget should I give it? ie in the Omnipresence campaign you suggested starting with a $1.00. I want to test different images and creative aimed at the individual target markets to get started. Then I'll also try different target audiences with the same images and creative I'm running the campaign across 4 target markets as you have suggested around Toronto. This, for me, is meant to be like the Omnipresent campaign where I'm wanting to warm up the market with ideas of how to use my products as gifts. Would I be stupid to just run this campaign for 2 weeks and then turn it off and then run it again next month and then turn it off and then run it the next month and turn it off?
Did anyone see my question above? In reading this I realize that this ad above is the campaign objective and the Omnipresence ads are based on the reach targetting tool, so that's different right there. I have a limited budget. It seems to me it would not be good for me to start an ad and run it for 2 weeks or so and stop it which is what I would do with this ad to give it a higher daily budget. What to do? What to do? Between Omnipresence and an ad like this? and a limited budget - ie $400 a month (gotta conversions though to keep that spend going consistently)
For budget - I would start with something that you can afford to lose but is meaningful - that's usually the sweet spot. Yes I would recommend keeping campaigns running where possible - it's not ideal to turn them off.
So I would look to run both types simultaneously. But put 80-90% of your budget into the more direct campaign for the time being. That may mean you need to run less ads in your Omnipresence content campaign if you're operating with a smaller budget.
Would you use the same strategy, to find best performing ad creatives? So im running a CBO and a retargeting campaign at all times. If i want to create and test new creatives, could i use the same strategy as above, with just running 1 ad, in 1 adset, and then testing the performance after a week. Then i could throw in my winning creatives in my main prospecting CBO to combat frequency. Whats your take on this? :)
For those with lower budgets, I suppose you could put one interest per ad set and then switch on CBO at the campaign level, and just rely on facebook's algorithm to invest the most money in the best performing ad set? As we only spend £100 per day, I think if we broke down £20 per ad set we wouldn't get good results as this is less that our average CPA.
I I have a question answer. Does a Facebook accounts contribute to a successful ads run on such account or doesn’t have any effect. Let’s take for example I have a product that is doing very very well on an old account but the same products as refused to pick up on a new account. The reason why I am asking if an account as an effect on how better an adverts performs.
There's one piece of this I'm not 100% clear about, Ben. To be sure you're spending the same amount per ad set, are you setting the budget on the ad set level? So, in other words, you're not using the Campaign Budget Optimization setting? If I don't set the budget on the Ad Set level, I'm noticing that FB determines how much of my campaign budget goes to each ad set and therefore my data is inconclusive. Or am I missing something?
@@gusbella8177 I'm experimenting by setting the budget on the Ad Set level and am finding that the spending is consistent. This is likely the only way to ensure that the spending is the same because otherwise, FB distributes it unevenly across all of the ad sets and makes breaking this up the way Ben describes it pointless.
Thank you for your videos, Can i target broad than see the results? without choosing interested will facebook show me whoom clicked the most by interest or its not possible like with Google ads to find my audience?
That depends on how broad the appeal of your product or service is and how mature your ad account is. I have videos on broad targeting on my channel that I'd recommend checking out.
If you use an ABO campaign, Facebook can not prio one ad set over another. However, we recommend to use a CBO campaign and set a minimum budget for each ad set and allow Facebook to allocate a % of your total ad spend by themselves with their algorithm.
And if you are just going for an ABO campaign, you would split the budget equally across all the ad sets and test them for enough time to get data to make an assumption based off of it.
Hi Joe, you can start with a really small budget to start with and then look to scale. I have more info on that in this video: th-cam.com/video/fDvazaXXvfs/w-d-xo.html
Hi Ben need your opinion on this one please , I have a new website custom made that I will switch to very soon, all the links in my campaigns will be changed, will that make the campaigns glitch? Also if we pause the campaigns for some hours, can we resume them or duplicate them and start them fresh?
Is this video a re-upload ? Because your ad account looks like my 2019 version and in e-commerce, we have been using this strategy since 2017 at least...
Hey Ben, I've been running ads off and on for a couple of years. Not once in the history of any of my campaigns, has the "learning phase" shown up in Ads Manager. It only shows "in draft", "processing", or "active"....I wonder why it never shows that the Ads are in the Learning Phase". Have you come across this ever? I run the ads exactly as some of my colleagues do (music marketing), and their ads show "learning phase" until 50 conversions or so, but mine never do...And my ads seem to run less efficiently. I've verified my domain and done everything else step-by-step and my pixel is active and working correctly. Any advise appreciated. Thanks for your vids!
WATCH NEXT - Avoid These Facebook Ad Mistakes: th-cam.com/video/2XXkZ4KzynQ/w-d-xo.html
Hi Ben , I caanot move forward with out adding a conversion event, please direct me what to do.
Will this trick work for lead generation ads as well
Hi everyone. Please, who can help me with Facebook Adds. I have a few advertising with daily 5€ budget. I targeted UK, USA, and EU, but I didn't get enough visitors to my Shopify store, but when I added INDIA to my targets on Facebook, I'm getting a lot of visitors from India.
OMG THIS WILL REVOLUTIONISE THE WAY FB ADS HAVE BEEN DONE, THIS HASN'T BEEN DONE FOR YEARS ALREADY
GENIUS
Have been doing this since 6 months and yes as Ben said it works effectively giving you results and you can scale quickly.
Awesome :)
This makes so much sense and is definitely worth the extra work. Thanks for highlighting this in its own video.
This is what I do in my ads agency already and it does work well!
Hi, I partially agree with what you said but there are nuances. If the ad sets (targeting groups) are separated and they are smaller than let’s say a few thousand people, your frequency level would go up to 5 in 2 days and you’ll be paying much higher CPAs. An important key factor is how big your audiences remain after you split them in different ad sets. + using CBO with minimum ad spent limit per ad set is preferred.
Can i have an example of how to set the minimum limited budgets, of a CBO of $20 per day with 4 ad sets? How many ad sets of those 4 should be minimum limited and how much $ each to a $20 cbo? For example: All 4 ad sets would get $5 each minimum? Or just the 1-2 of them and the remaining 2 with no limit? thank you in advance.
Another quick question: detailed targeting expansion should be always turned off when we use this tactic ?
Would make sense to put them into experiements and a/b/c/d/e so you get no audience overlap?
Been running my ads this way for 2 years already... This is the only strategy that always worked for me :)
I'd suggest to try the second method. But also try multiple interests within one ad set. Especially when Meta Business Suite has already created interests for you. I've done some crazy results with these plug and play ad sets. (For those who are interested: CPC
Wooow...this was an incredibly wide-eyes-opening video! Thanks for sharing so high valuable information!
Glad it was helpful :)
so would you say we can combine what you suggested with what facebook suggested? 1. testing and find out all the targeting that's top perfomirng and efficient, 2. step 2, then consolidating the ad sets to allow it work better per facebook?
Is this better than CBO? Also, say you found the best performing adset, how do you scale it?
Would you say there is a minimum budget to start with this set-up. Or how many adsets would you suggest with what type of CBO budget? Thanks
How long would you run those before deciding to change it up? And would you suggest a certain budget per day?
Thank you Ben! May you flourish and prosper! Wouldn’t this strategy result in audience fragmentation?
Thanks for this Video, it was very useful. If a campaign has 5 adsets targeting say Travel as in the video, would you exclude the other interests in each respective adset? My assumption that you avoid duplicating ads being presented to the same audience. Your thoughts please . . . . . . .
How long you test an audience before you make the decision?
Hi Ben! Thank you for all the knowledge you are sharing
I have a question, as I can see your guidelines is 1interest per as set but I also observe when you made 5 ad set you keep all interest which will have similar audience, don't you think after only few days this campaign will face overlapping issue? Or you just give similar interest for example or you actually give similar interests in each ad set
Every Video You are providing new concept and you are nailing man!!
Thanks a lot :)
Thanks Ben im from Thailand fan.
Each adsets in CBO campaign, the size should equal or not over x2, right?
Hi Ben! Thank you for all the knowledge you are sharing
I would Like to know, if I want to target audience for shoes. especially women's heeled sandals. What is the right target audience ?
Many thanks
Hey Ben, I’ve been using the standard approach and will start testing this way. What’s your recommended ad budget for the better method? Assuming a 1k-1.5k monthly ad budget for a local business
How long will u recommend the campaign to run before to switch off the non performing ad set?
As a beginner in Ecom, I love your videos. I set my ad sets as per your video. Can you advise. I'm from Australia. 'I've been running a campaign and already spent $100 and No Sales on a $10 budget with 5 ad sets /Interests & 3 videos creatives. Should I kill the campaign?
Hey Ben! Trying this out. You will prefer ABO or CBO here?
We do CBO with a minimum budget for each ad set and allow Facebook to allocate a portion of the total budget to each ad set. Best of both worlds :)
Usually start with CBO but if you find budget being diverted to incorrect ad sets or very heavily diverted, you can use ABO.
@@BenHeath but you can change it to ABO after your campagin haw been published with CBO...
Are you splitting the ad spend between all 5 of these? or just running each one until they hit $200 and then seeing the results?
I’d either split the budget or use CBO
Brilliant video as always!
One question I have is what if I’m not sure whether it is travel, sports or health that works better for my product…can I use audiences with multiples interests and then, let’s say travel is the winner, break that down as single interest audiences after? Thanks 😊
Thanks Ben, great video. One question, though: if I am located in a region that is very much less populated than the UK you are targeting. Let's say I have a total audience of 15000 people with the "merged" interests/behaviours. Should I use Advantage+ budget or will I mess up the data about the performance?
I also sometimes work with very limited budgets: can I use Advantage+ or the strategy just won't work properly?
Thanks :)
If you are targeting multiple different targeting options with very different audience sizes then I would be very careful with that as some of your smaller ones probably won't get many impressions. Otherwise I think it's fine.
Thank you for the video ben I have a question is it okay for to you use behavior at detailed targeting?
Sure :)
Ben, I never learned so much about Facebook ads, thank you much!
My question is: Once I have figured out my winners targeting, is it a good idea to use them for my New Omnipresent Campaign instead of adding a bunch of targets? Although doing this, it is going to make my audience much bigger than 50.000.
What is your advice for this?
I hope my question was clear!
Thanks a lot! 😀
Happy to help.
I wouldn't apply this targeting approach to an omnipresent content campaign.
For that I would use a different ad set structure, where each ad set includes the same targeting option. I'd revisit my vids on Omnipresent content for more details :)
Thank you!!!😊
We should always niche down everything.
Thank you Ben.
Thank you for your teachings! I would like to ask, with the 5 different ad set names you made, are the image or video ads used the same for all 5 ad sets?
Yes - we start that way at least so we can accurately test.
Good topic, Ben. Now, how to test along with various ad creatives? Test the ad creative first, before doing this? Or do this, and use all the various ad creatives within each ad set?
I would usually do both at the same time - but that would depend on budget :)
great content as always! may i ask how long should I set my ads? is 7 days okay?
Hey Ben thanks for all the fantastic content is really top notch!! When a beginner just starting a conversion campaign…how much would you advise spending on an interest test adset before you give up because of no conversions and try another interest? Would this be a % or multiple of the product s cost? Or another target? Thanks for any help
Do you use Advantage optimized budgeting for this structure or separate and equal ad set budgets?
Usually set budgets at the campaign level :)
Thank you very much!
What is your idea about copy in FB/IG reeels format? Do you think it is still important? Or is it better to provide more info in the video and/or in the leadform?
Copy is certainly still important - it will depend on the ad placement though.
Hi, great tip, just wondering if it will work for a localised targeting, e.g. a 3-mile radius of a store. Why I'm asking is that the audience size will be significantly smaller if they are separated out into different AdSets, and think it might be too restrictive for the ads to perform, any solution around this if I were to experiment with this strategy with a smaller audience size? Thanks.
Is this relevant if we have a small niche audience (ex. Insurance Agents) and the individual ad sets, even if we upload a list of 200k insurance agents, is too low to target and therefor too expensive(showing 0 leads, 5k-15k reach @ $200/day). I've had to add the Lookalike of that custom audience in the same ad set just to get to a point where we can run at $65/day to get an expected 2-10 leads. (6k-17k reach). I love the idea but it seems when i try to target like this I can't find a large enough audience. Thanks for the great videos. Just starting in Paid Media.
Ben, using your example, when doing this, would you recommend turning off the "Standard Ad Set" while you test the "Better Campaign"? At present (I'm following your exact strategy) I still have both running, and have concerns about overlap.
I would if the existing campaign is not doing very well. If it is doing well then I would leave that running whilst you test.
@@BenHeath Perfect mate, cheers
Hey Ben, would you recommend this structure with a new business / brand ? Or would you recommend a broad structure to create awareness ?
Yes I would go with this structure if you are using Direct To Offer :)
🤘 this is GENIUS! Thanks, Ben ... going to try this strategy now!
Have fun!
What was the outcome?
Hi Ben
Great video. How long would you suggest running this type of campaign for with a $1k budget?
what's the name of this app you using for your advertisement? thanks
First of all I can't thank you enough for what you doing. You provide a ton value there.
If you don't mind I would like to ask a question when it comes to behavior/interest targeting part.
Let me say for example that we have a service that we can provide online... For example online psychology 1-1 sessions but specifically for athletes. Does it have any meaning to target athletes and narrow down to Psychology or Personal development ? Or it is better to let the facebook algorithm figure things out by just targeting athletes?
Great info. Thanks for sharing it.
I'm currently running an ad the standard way. My target audience has about 25 topics (I sell science themed gifts). Separating out 25 topics seems a bit much. Do I have too many target audience topics to begin with?
Great video Ben👏👏...could i ask a quick doubt what about ads...can we keep it same for all the adset or change them and experiment with the best performing adset...thanks in advance for your time🙏
Hi Ben! A quick question here!
What if you've identified 3 best out of 5 targetings. Will you put the best 3 into a single ad set in upcoming ads publish?
Good question - no I'd keep running them separately. I would pause the underperforming ad sets.
@@BenHeath do you have any formula or mindset which you would like to share to us on how to identify the targeting. It seems like your logical execution is quite optimising the budget. But if the marketer doesnt have the right targeting it will still be a waste. Am i right?
Hello Ben!
Would you recommend this for someone who uses a daily budget of 5 euros? Isn't it very low to get in the 'game' with 1 euro for each ad?
Thank you
Should we add all focus products in one adset or have separate adsets for each product or different campaign for each product? Can you pls give me your views on this?
We have detected that the audience size variance is greater than 50% between the ad set ........... with largest audience size 13,100,000 and ad set ........ with the smallest audience 55,900. With the current setup, delivery can skew towards the ad set with the larger audience size given the lower cost opportunities available.
Ben Facebook says when the variance is above 50% directly moves to larger and ignores the smaller audience.
You didn't mention anything about It.
also I want to ask you excluding interests for preventing overlapping is a bad idea or not ?
Won't there be a high overlap in a targeting like this?
How many days would you leave an ad set running before deciding to kill it or scale it?
That really depends on performance - if it's close to where it needs to be we'd leave it running a lot longer than if it is way off our target cost per conversion.
What happens when you are a local business and the keywords you are running separately have a low audience and there is too much overlap among them?
I'm also seeing that Facebook tends to allocate more budget to Ad sets where there are higher audiences instead of the ones that perform better
I would test 10% LALs or even broad targeting - that can be the best way to go with a local business
Nice tips! I think your website traffic will increase as you get interaction by advertising. The secret to a good advertising campaign is to identify the right target audience and always be aware of what your competitors are doing. By using
WASK these are pretty easy!
Hey Ben-love this, thanks! Do you suggest combining multiple lookalike audiences or keeping them in 1 ad set? I've noticed that my lookalike audiences aren't performing too well and Facebook recommends that I combine ad sets. Do you think that I may be competing against myself given that each lookalike source audience is very similar? What do you suggest?
Thanks a lot - I prefer to do the same thing with lookalikes - provided you use CBO, you shouldn't need to worry too much about overlap
@@BenHeath what's cbo
@@geodsmarkingllc3088 campaign budget optimization i guess
EDIT: I wrote my comment before i'd seen the ending of the video.
I see the point, and the approach is interesting. But what you are proposing pretty much contradicts Facebook's own recommendation of combining ad sets. Furthermore, for this approach to work / be more credible, you would need to exclude 4 interests from each ad set, otherwise you'd most likely have overlap. At least, that's my opinion :)
i run a very small interior design business.my annul budget for ads/promo is 2000 usd.what types of ads should i run?
Thank you very much! Gonna try this suggestions out
Hi Ben, based on my personal experience, Facebook would automatically compare the performance of each interest group and then reallocate my budget to the groups that outperform others. In other words, taking yours as an example, theoretically, Facebook could quickly find out that Vacations group and Adventure Travel group perform better, and soon Facebook will minimize or even stop showing ads to the audience in rest groups and leaving all the budget on the two outperforming ones. In this case, it's the same as you manually testing and choosing the interest groups to advertise. On top of that, the standard setting gets out of the learning phase faster, costing the advertiser less in the beginning.
What's your thought?
Hi Steven, I think you make a good point but there are two issues with it. Firstly, I think you are giving Facebook a bit too much credit to be able to distinguish between the interests you have added into a single ad set. I think the people in there are not as segregated as you say.
Secondly, you don't find out which works best - which is critical for improving results with future campaigns, ad sets, etc.
@@BenHeath Of course FB can distinguish between interests!
Great information. Does this work with local service based businesses who do not have huge audience sizes to start with (under 150k)? If I cannot target by interest due to too small an audience, can I create ad sets based on ages? We do see differences in conversions based on age.
Hi Ben ! great video! Is that a CBO campaign or ABO ? can you please tell me ? i couldn't find it on this video ! Much appreciated
!
Hi Ben, I've followed the detailed targeting approach. However, Facebook automatically is turning off my ad sets, keeping only 1 of them live. They turned off the ad set that gave me the most purchases!!
Can you please help me understand the reason behind this and how can I ensure it doesn't keep happening? Thanks heaps.
Spot on once again, Ben. Thanks.
Curious to know, does it make sense to combine a couple of better performng targeting options down the line when we are introducing new creatives/offers and//or starting new campaigns? Just to help out with easier campaign management.
Thanks a lot. I like to follow the logic all the way through so for me it doesn't. The exception would be when the best performing audiences end up being too small to run for very long by themselves.
@@BenHeath got it, thanks.
Are all the photos/videos the same or are they different?
Sir very thanks for video its gives me a huge boost
Because this is the same trick am using for my company ad & generating good leads.
Happy to see what am doing for months you're also recommending the same❤❤❤
By the way sir if you want any advertiser in your team am always ready just to gain experience from you not money
Hi, great video! How long do you let running the campaign before taking a decision?
Your budget for your ad/audience test should be 3 times your target cost per acquisition. So if your product is $50 and your goal is to acquire customers and break even on your ad spend with a ROAS of 1, then your testing budget is $150, $50 x 3. So to answer your question... spend $50 per day for 3 days or $25 per day for 6 days, to test your audiences. Cheers!
Great one Ben! But something that is unclear for most us here is that, do we use ABO or CBO for this setup. That’s the missing piece of puzzle. Please help! Thanks.
You can go either way with that - I would usually use CBO
@@BenHeath thanks mate! So you mean CBO and then equally distribute budget manually or let the algorithm do its job? I think its the example you gave which spilts 200 bucks equally that raises this question .
I have a question, if i am making ads for cosmetic products should i use detailed targeting or open targeting i have no ads before new account
Test both :)
@@BenHeath I want to ask more question please I made an a/b test to test both the open targeting got me high number of conversion in the statistics and the detailed targeting give me lower but could it be that the detailed targeting could got me high value clients?
Also if I test two audience in a/b test the too audience are similar by 60% and I want to test two audience with slight difference will this make the test results reliable?
Great video. A question: Do you put budget for each adsets (like $200 in example) or is CBO advisable for the better campaign?
Hypothetical question: If I set up an Facebook ad saying "David, get your widgets for half price" and target males between 18 and 65+ will Facebook/Meta's AI work out that the advert gets a much higher click-through/conversion rate when shown to people called David than it does for people not called David? If so how long would it likely take?
Would it not be "better" to launch 4 new ad sets within the Standard Campaign, as opposed to launching a whole new Campaign? - As the Standard Campaign would have already built up the data from its Learning Phase. Launching a new campaign wouldnt it have to do the whole learning phase again?
Yes you could go either way with that
what use is similar :
1 campaign WC
4 adsets ( 4 interests )
4 ads per adset ( one pic, on video, carousel, combined pics as a video )
duplicate ads
So, I have this structure : 1>4>32
I can add more creatives, or adsets, it depend to the product/service
what is your daily budget? Also are you using CBO or ABO?
Would you set the budget for this strat as CBO or ABO setting?
You could use either - I tend to prefer CBO
very basic campaign structure.. I guess someone that is really a beginner might see this info as useful, but I hope you will start putting out some more advanced content since this basic stuff is easy to find & learn by almost any channel here on TH-cam.
I think it’s easy to assume that simple is not effective. In my experience the exact opposite is often true. That said - I cover all sorts on my channel - the video before this one for example had a more complex structure if that’s what you’re looking for
Thanks for all the great content Ben! We are a single product company. Curious how this fits with your single CBO campaign theory? Would you run something like this alongside your main campaign as a testing ground and then promote the winners into the main campaign alongside warm audiences and lookalikes? Basically - little confused how to approach audience testing AND scaling within the single CBO campaign structure 😂 thanks!
cant do CBO
Along those lines - wouldn't CBO just allocate to the best ad set - so you wouldn't need to worry about turning the lower performers off? Alternatively, would it be advisable to target more broadly and just let FB algorithm do the work? I know I'm missing something - the concepts are just so hard to keep straight!
Ok, I've set up this ad. What kind of budget should I give it? ie in the Omnipresence campaign you suggested starting with a $1.00. I want to test different images and creative aimed at the individual target markets to get started. Then I'll also try different target audiences with the same images and creative I'm running the campaign across 4 target markets as you have suggested around Toronto. This, for me, is meant to be like the Omnipresent campaign where I'm wanting to warm up the market with ideas of how to use my products as gifts. Would I be stupid to just run this campaign for 2 weeks and then turn it off and then run it again next month and then turn it off and then run it the next month and turn it off?
Did anyone see my question above? In reading this I realize that this ad above is the campaign objective and the Omnipresence ads are based on the reach targetting tool, so that's different right there. I have a limited budget. It seems to me it would not be good for me to start an ad and run it for 2 weeks or so and stop it which is what I would do with this ad to give it a higher daily budget. What to do? What to do? Between Omnipresence and an ad like this? and a limited budget - ie $400 a month (gotta conversions though to keep that spend going consistently)
For budget - I would start with something that you can afford to lose but is meaningful - that's usually the sweet spot.
Yes I would recommend keeping campaigns running where possible - it's not ideal to turn them off.
So I would look to run both types simultaneously. But put 80-90% of your budget into the more direct campaign for the time being. That may mean you need to run less ads in your Omnipresence content campaign if you're operating with a smaller budget.
Great video, very clear, exactly what I believe that averages are dangerous. Thanks Ben
Happy to help :)
this video is GENIUS, soo helpful i swear
Happy to help :)
Hi Ben would you recommend to keep also the visuals the same for all these ad sets?
Initially yes - but you can adjust to improve performance based on the data you see.
Does duplicate content harm your website's rankings?
CAN WE DUPLICATE ADS IN THAT 5 AD SETS OR DO WE HAVE TO RUN DIFFERENTLY FOR EACH AD SET?
Yea you can duplicate :)
What if you show a real ad that your doing for a customer? Maybe you already have but I think that would be neat. From the beginning to the end?
Is the conversion objective useless if no pixel is active nor installed?
Wow wow 👌perfect totally got your point and one of the best i have seen. 😊
Thank you so much 😀
Hi, Ben. I think that You are a real facebook ads advertising gamer⭐👏
Would you use the same strategy, to find best performing ad creatives?
So im running a CBO and a retargeting campaign at all times.
If i want to create and test new creatives, could i use the same strategy as above, with just running 1 ad, in 1 adset, and then testing the performance after a week. Then i could throw in my winning creatives in my main prospecting CBO to combat frequency. Whats your take on this? :)
For those with lower budgets, I suppose you could put one interest per ad set and then switch on CBO at the campaign level, and just rely on facebook's algorithm to invest the most money in the best performing ad set? As we only spend £100 per day, I think if we broke down £20 per ad set we wouldn't get good results as this is less that our average CPA.
I I have a question answer. Does a Facebook accounts contribute to a successful ads run on such account or doesn’t have any effect. Let’s take for example I have a product that is doing very very well on an old account but the same products as refused to pick up on a new account. The reason why I am asking if an account as an effect on how better an adverts performs.
There's one piece of this I'm not 100% clear about, Ben. To be sure you're spending the same amount per ad set, are you setting the budget on the ad set level? So, in other words, you're not using the Campaign Budget Optimization setting? If I don't set the budget on the Ad Set level, I'm noticing that FB determines how much of my campaign budget goes to each ad set and therefore my data is inconclusive. Or am I missing something?
I was just wondering this....
@@gusbella8177 I'm experimenting by setting the budget on the Ad Set level and am finding that the spending is consistent. This is likely the only way to ensure that the spending is the same because otherwise, FB distributes it unevenly across all of the ad sets and makes breaking this up the way Ben describes it pointless.
Thank you for your videos, Can i target broad than see the results? without choosing interested will facebook show me whoom clicked the most by interest or its not possible like with Google ads to find my audience?
That depends on how broad the appeal of your product or service is and how mature your ad account is. I have videos on broad targeting on my channel that I'd recommend checking out.
After turning off the less performing ad sets do we need increase the budget on well performing ad sets because you set the daily budget of 1000 ??
No not necessarily - if you have CBO enabled then Facebook will do that for you automatically.
@@BenHeath ok thanks so much
I get that
How much budget do you need to split across 5 ad sets? Or what do you do if Facebook favours some ad sets than others so some get less spend.
If you use an ABO campaign, Facebook can not prio one ad set over another. However, we recommend to use a CBO campaign and set a minimum budget for each ad set and allow Facebook to allocate a % of your total ad spend by themselves with their algorithm.
And if you are just going for an ABO campaign, you would split the budget equally across all the ad sets and test them for enough time to get data to make an assumption based off of it.
Hi Joe, you can start with a really small budget to start with and then look to scale. I have more info on that in this video: th-cam.com/video/fDvazaXXvfs/w-d-xo.html
@@happylegoleon9209 Perfect, this is how I already do it. Just wanted to know if it's the right way or if there was something better.
@@BenHeath Amazing thanks
Hi Ben need your opinion on this one please , I have a new website custom made that I will switch to very soon, all the links in my campaigns will be changed, will that make the campaigns glitch? Also if we pause the campaigns for some hours, can we resume them or duplicate them and start them fresh?
Is this still best practise or is it better to stack nowdays?
No I would still recommend this approach - for the same reasons as stated in this video.
Is this video a re-upload ? Because your ad account looks like my 2019 version and in e-commerce, we have been using this strategy since 2017 at least...
No this was recorded this year - different ad accounts get updates at different speeds. There haven't been many major UI changes since then though.
So helpful Ben! Thanks for sharing.
Happy to help, thanks for watching :)
Hey Ben, I've been running ads off and on for a couple of years. Not once in the history of any of my campaigns, has the "learning phase" shown up in Ads Manager. It only shows "in draft", "processing", or "active"....I wonder why it never shows that the Ads are in the Learning Phase". Have you come across this ever? I run the ads exactly as some of my colleagues do (music marketing), and their ads show "learning phase" until 50 conversions or so, but mine never do...And my ads seem to run less efficiently. I've verified my domain and done everything else step-by-step and my pixel is active and working correctly. Any advise appreciated. Thanks for your vids!
Hey Ben, Good point . I have a question, what about audience overlap between different ad-sets of the same campaign?
It’s somewhat inevitable - anything you do to elementary it will wreck the test