Soccer Fouls Examples - Youth Referee Training

แชร์
ฝัง
  • เผยแพร่เมื่อ 23 ก.ค. 2014
  • Laws 11 and 12 examples. Youth Referee Training. Soccer.
  • บันเทิง

ความคิดเห็น • 85

  • @connerblenk4599
    @connerblenk4599 9 ปีที่แล้ว +64

    The first two were definitely fouls. The player is trying to shield the ball, not trying to "draw a foul". And the second one, the defender clearly goes straight through the forwards knee before even coming close to the ball. All ball? Yeah right

    • @radicalindependent
      @radicalindependent 9 ปีที่แล้ว +7

      I am in total agreement with you! Plus how subjective does FIFA expect us to be as refs? A player can draw a foul the same way a basketball player does, as far as I'm concerned, it's his fault for leaving his feet. You also bring up a good point about shielding which that player did a great job of doing, in fact I'd say that's text book shielding and fair play that should be applauded. Of course FIFA doesn't seem to interested in fair and quality play anymore today!

    • @femalezoeynekofox9487
      @femalezoeynekofox9487 6 ปีที่แล้ว

      If he's trying to shield the ball why did he celebrate.

    • @haldir23her
      @haldir23her 5 ปีที่แล้ว +5

      @@femalezoeynekofox9487 Because his team was awarded a penalty kick I mean Why wouldn't he celebrate? I absolutely agree that it was a foul. Drawing fouls is a skill in football whether you like it or not.

    • @mikedean92
      @mikedean92 5 ปีที่แล้ว +1

      @@femalezoeynekofox9487 Because he was fouled. If you shield the ball or use your body in such a way as to invite a challenge that doesn't make you then subject to whatever the opponent wants to do to go through you to get to the ball.

    • @damocles5047
      @damocles5047 4 ปีที่แล้ว +1

      this is football and you don't shield the ball like that. That's faking a foul.

  • @erichench518
    @erichench518 8 ปีที่แล้ว +3

    40 yr player (Center back, holding mid and GK), 10 yr coach, 5 yr ref here. I agree with Jeff Kuta on not necessarily taking the opinions in the video as definitive refereeing guidance. A great resource is MNSRC Podcast with in depth analysis and training developed by State Dir of Assessment, FIFA Inspector, State Ref Admin, State Dir of Instruction. Now for my .02. #1 - absolute PK. The "defender is in good position" has no bearing on the later foul. "The player celebrates?" I disagree as well that this is a definitive tell. As a player, if I know I have been fouled and the ref calls it a PK, I might celebrate a bit as well. Likewise if I take a dive (which I do not consider this to be for reasons I'll talk about in a second) and a PK is called, I might celebrate also. If we are solely analyzing reactions, the defender (nor his teammates) doesn't seem terribly shocked or upset when the PK is called. Now to the foul which is really the only way to analyze a play. The attacker creates a small amount of space off of a quick move resulting in a roughly shoulder to shoulder opportunity for the ball. The attacker is beginning to attempt to put his body between the ball and the defender when the defender commits to a tackle (pretty common shield). The attacker is struck by the sliding defender and contact is only made by the defender on the attacker. The worst part that I saw was the defender raising his right leg after the trip in a continued attempt to contact the attacker. This is an unnatural follow through and demonstrates a deliberate foul. PK - no card (which is presumably what the red player/attacker teammate talking to the referee afterward was about. Careless trip. Not reckless.

  • @nautica7084
    @nautica7084 6 ปีที่แล้ว +4

    The last one should be "Play On" (Advantage) because both the yellow and red player have equal opportunity to take possession of the ball. The hold was not mere enough to call for a DK (Direct Kick). I would play on unless one of the players was on top of the other player trying to receive the ball. Then we have a push penalty with IDK.

  • @year-xc4mf
    @year-xc4mf 7 ปีที่แล้ว +3

    Thanks for uploading, v helpful

  • @TheBumblebee481
    @TheBumblebee481 8 ปีที่แล้ว +52

    the first foul is a penalty, the attacker has every right to put his leg there to protect the ball that he is in possession of.

    • @Toolgdskli
      @Toolgdskli 7 ปีที่แล้ว

      Fubzy is that nainggolan?

    • @TheBumblebee481
      @TheBumblebee481 7 ปีที่แล้ว

      Alejandro Sudiro ?

    • @beastyboy2529
      @beastyboy2529 7 ปีที่แล้ว +4

      Fubzy not when he puts it into the defender. when an attacker places his foot in a position where everyone know it will be fouled he is aiming for the penalty. if a player aims for a penalty in a game it's like they might as well speak to the ref and say you must give me a penalty. I play in goal and I cleared the ball just outside my box when I did an opponent jumped in front clipped the ball then collided with my leg. he claimed he should have got a free kick and I sent off but because he was the one lunging in the ref gave us a throwing because he clipped the ball out. the player decided to call the ref special and was sent off

    • @Freethinker1958
      @Freethinker1958 6 ปีที่แล้ว +1

      I completely agree. IMO, the first situation in the box is a foul against the defense. Even is slow motion, it is a foul.

    • @deadphoenix5678
      @deadphoenix5678 6 ปีที่แล้ว +1

      IMO the move he made was still in range of reasonable moves you would make to cover the ball. IMO it is one of those decisions where the refferee could decide either way depending on whehter he thinks the player moved in the line of the tackle just to get fouled or not. Those decisions are really difficult for a ref and saying it was clearly not a foul won't do that justice.

  • @MarkWarner999
    @MarkWarner999 8 ปีที่แล้ว +5

    I think some people need to take a ref class, or several.

  • @FrancescoCeretti96
    @FrancescoCeretti96 8 ปีที่แล้ว

    @7:35 Only if the player (#14) didn't touch #23 it is a dangerous play. Attention: a dangerous play (so an indirect free-kick) can be whistled only if there isn't any contact between the players.

  • @beastyboy2529
    @beastyboy2529 7 ปีที่แล้ว +12

    there was nothing wrong with the gk's (manuel neuer's) knee near the end as it's the technique we are taught towards catching the ball to protect ourselves. if he didn't lift his leg as a shield the attacker would have hit his flat legs and made him tip onto his head which then would have been a serious foul.

    • @ChubyDon
      @ChubyDon  7 ปีที่แล้ว +5

      I respect your opinion, but as a referee I have cautioned several goal keepers that use the knee in a dangerous way. In this case the goal keeper was not catching the ball he went to dispute the ball.

    • @beastyboy2529
      @beastyboy2529 7 ปีที่แล้ว +4

      ChubyDon it doesn't matter if he catches it or punches / parries the ball. the other week my friend jumped up for the ball didn't lift his knee to protect himself like we're taught for years and the attacker wiped his legs in the air causing him to land on his head. ref had to stop the game in case serious head injury and my friend was lucky he didn't damage his spine. by simply lifting your knee across your body your leg covers the front of your other like a shield therefore it's easier to remain stable in the air. you complain that's bad, I get booted in the face when I Cleary claim the ball on the ground and ref says "play on" I did but side of my face was bleeding, however their attacker got subbed cos he hurt his leg.

    • @beastyboy2529
      @beastyboy2529 7 ปีที่แล้ว +2

      ChubyDon my same friend is also a ref plus in another game I cleared the ball when an attacker lunged, the ball clipped the attacker and went out the sideline just before he hit my raised leg. He tried to call a foul and was annoyed the ref gave us a throwing so he called the ref 'special' and got sent off. ref stated what I did is basic technique

    • @ReallyBadService
      @ReallyBadService 6 ปีที่แล้ว +3

      beastyboy2529 That's a load of crud taught by coaches. No, it's not used to protect, it's used to warn the opposition of the consequences of going in a one on one with you. Inflicting maximum punishment with little repercussion is the goal.

    • @myaccountisntthisone
      @myaccountisntthisone 6 ปีที่แล้ว +3

      In the clip he leapt into the opponent leading with the knee. That is different than jumping up and the opponent running into the keeper.

  • @jhordyalexisquispediaz4913
    @jhordyalexisquispediaz4913 6 ปีที่แล้ว

    Very good bro!

  • @4400seriesFAN
    @4400seriesFAN 8 ปีที่แล้ว +5

    @1:45
    Under the current directives,this play is NOT an offside violation.

    • @quadrupleem
      @quadrupleem 6 ปีที่แล้ว +1

      correct, this video was uploaded in 2014, so he was correct, but not now.

  • @jayeffsixteen
    @jayeffsixteen 5 ปีที่แล้ว +1

    for everyone confused about the first example: red initiates the contact. white is going for the ball. red hits players leg by moving his leg towards the white players leg. if his leg was already in that position shielding you're correct its a penalty. but it wasn't he was moving it there and therefore red initiates the contact by virtue of moving to where he wants to shield. theres a good video from some California ref instructor that breaks down similar situations. this is what Fifa wants.

  • @kamaleshwaran3544
    @kamaleshwaran3544 5 ปีที่แล้ว

    Useful one

  • @Mhamza98
    @Mhamza98 8 ปีที่แล้ว

    Bro i need help with #14 i kick the ball when no one is too close and the other guy says its a foul ( we dont have a ref ). Could you make a video showing some examples of fair play and fouls regarding #14 thank you.

  • @williamsantiago1354
    @williamsantiago1354 6 ปีที่แล้ว +1

    This vid is really helpful and thank u. I just started soccer and i play really well, however idk wtf they talk abt half the time so this helped out alot

  • @lukeharrison5082
    @lukeharrison5082 8 ปีที่แล้ว +12

    Neuer does not commit a foul in the penalty area. He used his knee for his own protection. The call was a throw in for Argentina after Higuain was given medical attention

    • @CTYPCL
      @CTYPCL 8 ปีที่แล้ว +1

      +Luke Harrison Dude, he hit Higuain in the head with his knee. I wish someday Neuer does that to you.

    • @lukeharrison5082
      @lukeharrison5082 8 ปีที่แล้ว +3

      +Toni Blackbird after he hit the ball. i would be happy af if he did that to me

    • @simlittle89
      @simlittle89 8 ปีที่แล้ว

      +Luke Harrison Lol no where in the laws of the game does it say " it is acceptable to knee players in the head as long as its so you dont get hit, or as long as you hit the ball whatever you do after is fine"

    • @lukeharrison5082
      @lukeharrison5082 8 ปีที่แล้ว +2

      Justin S he had his knee up to protect his own body. It is completely fine and like i said he made clear ball contact before he touched higuain. Thats why it was fair play and they call was a throw in because neuer punched it outside the touch line. Its similar to a slide tackle where you make clear ball contact and then the player trips over you.the only consideration was wether or not he was past the box when he punched the ball and he wasnt.

    • @simlittle89
      @simlittle89 8 ปีที่แล้ว +2

      if you make contact with the ball first and then still take out the player.....its also illegal lol....have you ever read the laws of the game

  • @jrprentice1000
    @jrprentice1000 4 หลายเดือนก่อน

    my referee association chairman has many good phrases, one being, :- did he win the ball... was there contact? in case one, answer is no he did not and yes there was, penalty....

  • @tauqeeraly3799
    @tauqeeraly3799 6 ปีที่แล้ว

    Nice

  • @nicksubong1700
    @nicksubong1700 2 ปีที่แล้ว

    Did he even make contact at 5:51?

  • @WunHungLo99
    @WunHungLo99 ปีที่แล้ว

    Don't agree with first DOGSO. The keeper doesn't touch the player and arguably there were 2 defenders who might have saved the goal and the attacker.

  • @juancho661
    @juancho661 6 ปีที่แล้ว

    At 3:00 does that apply to both hands or just one hand?

    • @mrramosmath
      @mrramosmath 6 ปีที่แล้ว +1

      Thanks for your question. What is important is if the goal keeper has control of the ball, it could be one or two hands, one hand and any surface (goal post, the ground, his/her body), even holding the ball in the open palm. The goal keeper cannot be challenged when he is in possession of the ball. However, a ball which is only being controlled by the goalkeeper using means other than the hands is open to otherwise legal challenges by an opponent.

    • @juancho661
      @juancho661 6 ปีที่แล้ว

      Thanks. Next time I wont award that goal. I gave a u8 game a goal with one hand against surface and my excuse was the kicker was already on his shooting leg before the goalie put two fingers on the ball.

  • @xTanxManx
    @xTanxManx 2 ปีที่แล้ว

    The first DOGSO example is a total dive LOL

  • @ItsaVibe22
    @ItsaVibe22 7 ปีที่แล้ว +1

    thanks you. exactly what I was looking for. very informative. I'm new to soccer, and was interested to see if I did anything wrong.

  • @cymak5790
    @cymak5790 8 ปีที่แล้ว +5

    can a yellow card be "awarded"?

    • @ChubyDon
      @ChubyDon  8 ปีที่แล้ว +1

      +CY Mak, good catch. Yellow cards are shown, free kicks are awarded..if I find the source video I will fix it. Thanks

  • @skiddiesloveyouguys567
    @skiddiesloveyouguys567 2 ปีที่แล้ว

    So many fouls here could be prevented. But some team are alouding their players to do whatever it takes to win the game and this is putting the players in danger. That fouls by the goalkeeper hitting the players head should be considered a crime in soccer once he could kill that players. Why so many players act stupid like that ? Why not play safety so kids see that and want to play soccer. Some of this fouls will scare kids and parents from soccer. Just remember that fouls can be prevented. Play safety y'all please?

  • @lakshsharma5772
    @lakshsharma5772 3 ปีที่แล้ว

    5:05

  • @mikedean92
    @mikedean92 5 ปีที่แล้ว

    I am a referee and I completely disagree with the first example of the video. The player may use his leg to protect the ball. Clearly a foul.

  • @WunHungLo99
    @WunHungLo99 2 ปีที่แล้ว

    I don't agree with play 1. A player is entitled to put his leg in a position to protect the ball from the defender. In real time play it looks like a clear foul.

  • @juancho661
    @juancho661 6 ปีที่แล้ว +1

    At 1:09 the defender definitely hits his knee first then the ball. Wrong call, even though he did touch the ball as opposed to his foot.

  • @WunHungLo99
    @WunHungLo99 2 ปีที่แล้ว

    Don't agree with non intentional deflection. He clearly attempts to control the ball bit doesn't. It's an intentional touch.

  • @jeffkuta7590
    @jeffkuta7590 8 ปีที่แล้ว +5

    The first two were fouls. The first offside was *not* offside because the defender intentionally played (but misplayed) the ball. That was not a deflection.
    Referees, *do not* use this video as an example of what to call.

    • @ChubyDon
      @ChubyDon  8 ปีที่แล้ว

      +Jeff Kuta, read the text at 2:19

    • @erichench518
      @erichench518 8 ปีที่แล้ว

      I agree with the first on being foul and not a dive as the commentary states. The 2nd on not so clear. I do disagree with the commentary that the referee was in a good position. It appears from the video that two other players are likely shielding him from the play. Player/coach analysis - The defender in this play has committed to a foolish (since the ball is deep on the line it would be better to defend the cross than risk possibly giving up a PK) tackle. Ref analysis - the attacker has his body more or less between the defender and the ball. The defender tries to tackle the ball to the far side of the attacker's body. It is hard to tell from the replays on any angle if the defender hits the attacker's near-side knee prior to playing the ball. If he does - PK. If he doesn't... still could be interpreted as a careless tackle (touching the ball first doesn't make a tackle automatically ok) but I would not call it a PK absent the touch.

    • @4400seriesFAN
      @4400seriesFAN 8 ปีที่แล้ว

      2:19 is NOT linked to the previous play.

    • @wheelix5797
      @wheelix5797 7 ปีที่แล้ว

      +Da Henchman that was not offside, he was back

  • @edwardthomas1208
    @edwardthomas1208 6 ปีที่แล้ว +1

    It is called football

  • @HakanTheRef
    @HakanTheRef 4 ปีที่แล้ว

    I hope you are just being sarcastic in this video. Otherwise, it is really harmful video. If you are a referee please do not try to educate anyone lol. In the first incident, obviously the player tries to award a penalty by shielding the ball and then he celebrates, because why wouldn't he? How can you be a referee if you are not empathize with a player? Naturally he celebrates it, not because of fooling the ref. Also if you still think that he celebrates it because of awarding a penalty, why would he demonstrate the joy of this if he really trying to fool you. Just think a little. Third position is also definitely a penalty, the player in yellow shirt step on the black shirted player's ankle for god's sake, how can you call this a ''dive''?

    • @ChubyDon
      @ChubyDon  4 ปีที่แล้ว

      Thank you for your nice comments. These videos are for youth referee training.

  • @Nonplused
    @Nonplused 6 ปีที่แล้ว

    This is the problem with soccer, they've made the rules to complex. If you are offside when you receive the ball, you should be offside, like in the old days. What the hell does "interfering with the play" mean? Why does offside not apply on a throw in but it does on a free kick? Why is charging allowed from the sides but not the front or back? Why is it illegal to strip the goalie of the ball if he has 2 hands touching, but not if the ball is on the ground or in the event where he is about to release it for a kick? Why can't a player pass the ball back to his own goalie's hands? (Stupidest rule of them all, goalies are allowed to use their hands but not if they get a back pass. It's just stupid. You are either allowed to use your hands or your not. Of course to make this rule even stupider if you head the ball back to the goalie or it deflects, well then hands are allowed, but no passes. Stupid.) Is a hand ball intentional or not? How the heck can you tell?
    They already had all the proper rules of soccer figured out 75 years ago, and all the changes have just been twits who think they are smarter than the people who invented the game.

  • @nehpetsttocsnosirrag6227
    @nehpetsttocsnosirrag6227 4 ปีที่แล้ว

    And punching someone in the nuts is a red card but it feels good

  • @Menendark2
    @Menendark2 9 ปีที่แล้ว

    2:15 is completely wrong. If player receives the ball from an opponent while being in offside, offside must be called, because the player is obviously gaining an advantage (being involved in active play) by being in offside position.

    • @goodros
      @goodros 9 ปีที่แล้ว +3

      Menendark2 You couldn't be more wrong. The attacker cannot be penalized for offside if he receives the ball directly from an opponent. The direct wording in the LotG says "at the moment the ball touches or is played by one of his team"

    • @mbkincaid1
      @mbkincaid1 8 ปีที่แล้ว

      +Menendark2 troll